

John Laird, Secretary for Natural Resources, Council Chair Gavin Newsom, Lieutenant Governor, State Lands Commission Chair Linda Adams, Secretary for Environmental Protection Susan Golding, Public Member Geraldine Knatz, Public Member Fran Pavley, State Senator Toni Atkins. State Assemblymember

MEMORANDUM

TO:	Ocean Protection Council
FROM:	Sam Schuchat, Ocean Protection Council Secretary
DATE:	March 11, 2011
RE:	Election of Chair to the Ocean Protection Council

REQUESTED ACTION:

Staff recommends the California Ocean Protection Council (OPC) elect one of its members to serve as chair until the first council meeting of 2012.

BACKGROUND:

The California Ocean Protection Act requires that the OPC elect a chairperson each calendar year. Section 35605 of the Public Resources Code reads:

"At the council's first meeting in a calendar year, the council shall elect a chair from among its voting members."

The chair is generally responsible for ensuring an orderly meeting, a full discussion on issues before the council, and clear instructions to its staff concerning the will of the council.¹

Suggested Procedure for Electing the Chairperson

Staff suggests that nominations for chair be made by voting members as the first order of business at the March 11, 2011 OPC meeting, provided a quorum is present. If there is more than one nomination, a vote shall be taken. If there is only one candidate, a decision by unanimous consent will be sufficient. The new chair will then preside over the remainder of the March 11th meeting, and will remain chair until the first OPC meeting of 2012.

¹ See generally *Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised* § 47