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CDFW Responses to Crab Testing Questions from Tom Weseloh 
 
1) Does the Director have authority to continue a season closure once domoic acid test 
results statewide are clean?  

 
Yes, the Director can continue the closure until the reopening requirements of Section 131(b) of 
Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations are met. In addition to receiving a request from the 
Director of OEHHA (in consultation with the Director of CDPH) to reopen the fishery, the 
Director is required to give no less than a 7-day notice period to commercial fishermen and the 
general public of all re-opened waters.  
 
 
2) With a statewide opening a 30 delay provision protects all state waters from effort 
shift.  How would the 30 day delay provision apply in the event of a split opening under 
the following circumstances: 
 
       a) If District 10 opened first, how would CA permit holders who have not yet fished 
be impacted?  How would CA permit holders who have already fished in WA or OR be 
impacted? 
The delay due to the public health risk from domoic acid constitutes a delay in the opening of 
the season pursuant to state law in California under Fish and Game Code section 8279.1. If 
District 10 opened before the rest of the state, California permit holders who have not yet taken, 
possessed onboard, or landed crabs would be able to immediately begin fishing in District 10. 
Pursuant to 8279.1(b) and (d), a permit holder who has already taken, possess onboard, or 
landed crabs in Washington or Oregon must wait 30 days before beginning to fish in California.  
 
       b) If Districts 6,7,8 and 9 opened first, how would CA permit holders who have not yet 
fished be impacted?  How would CA permit holders who have already fished in WA or OR 
be impacted?  
If District 6,7,8 and 9 opened before the rest of the state, California permit holders who have not 
yet taken, possessed onboard, or landed crabs would be able to immediately begin fishing in 
those Districts. Pursuant to 8279.1(b) and (d), a permit holder who has already taken, 
possessed onboard, or landed crabs in Washington or Oregon must wait 30 days before 
beginning to fish in California.  
	


