Dungeness Crab Task Force Memberss

DCTF Members

DCTF Commercial Fishing Elections

The California Ocean Protection Council (OPC) and the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) carry out DCTF commercial fishing elections as described in Fish and Game Code Section 8276.4. Commercial fishermen are elected to the DCTF by their peers to represent their home port complexes and production level. DCTF elections shall be held every three years in each port, on a staggered basis across ports.

The results of the DCTF Commercial Fishing Elections are available in the Current DCTF Member List. Future election processes are anticipated to follow a similar process as described below.

DCTF Election Process and Timelines
Elections are generally carried out with two separate mailings:

  1. Mailing #1: Nomination Form: All valid California Dungeness crab permitholders receive a form in the mail to nominate individuals for the DCTF.
  2. Mailing #2: Ballot: Ballots are compiled from the list of nominees. Permitholders from Eureka, Bodega Bay, Half Moon Bay, and Non-resident California Dungeness crab permitholders will receive a ballot in 2023. Votes tallied from these ballots will determine the members who serve on the DCTF representing these port complexes.

2023 DCTF Election Documents:

Nomination Forms are due by Monday, April 10, 2023.

Group 2 Ports: Elections in 2023
If your vessel’s registered home port is in any of the following port complexes, you are eligible to vote in the Group 2 DCTF elections in 2020, 2023, and 2026:

  • Eureka (includes Shelter Cove and all ports within Humboldt Bay)
  • Bodega Bay (includes Bolinas and all ports within Tomales Bay)
  • Half Moon Bay
  • Non-resident California Dungeness crab permitholder (includes all out of state vessel port registrations designated as Unknown)

Group 1 Ports: Elections in 2025
If your vessel’s registered home port is in any of the following port complexes, you are eligible to vote in the Group 1 DCTF elections in 2019, 2022, 2025, and 2028:

  • Crescent City (includes all California ports north of Trinidad)
  • Trinidad
  • Fort Bragg (includes all ports in Mendocino County)
  • San Francisco (includes ports from within San Francisco Bay)
  • South of Half Moon Bay (includes all ports from Monterey Bay south)

DCTF Non-Commercial Fishing Seats

Section 8276.4 of the Fish and Game Code states that seven members are appointed to the DCTF by the Chair of the Ocean Protection Council following a public solicitation for nominations. These seven members represent sport fishing, crab processing, commercial passenger fishing vessel, nongovernmental organization interests, and are as follows:

  • One voting (1) and one nonvoting (1) member representing sport fishing interests.
  • Two voting (2) members representing crab processing interests.
  • One voting (1) member representing commercial passenger fishing vessel interests.
  • Two nonvoting (2) members representing nongovernmental organization interests.

Those appointed to represent non-commercial fishing seats are included in the Current DCTF Member List.

The DCTF also includes nonvoting representatives from CDFW and California Sea Grant. Two nonvoting (2) members representing CDFW are appointed by CDFW. One nonvoting (1) representative of University of California Sea Grant is appointed by University of California Sea Grant.

DCTF Contact

To stay informed about upcoming elections, meetings, and other DCTF related activities, sign up for the DCTF email list. Please direct all questions and comments to info@dungenesscrabtaskforce.com.


< Return to the Dungeness Crab Task Force Homepage